Piece of String

Since I caught your eye in the glass,
Fading with the curtained sun,
And waiting for you to look back,
My heart ran like a rabbit
Smiling when I opened a door,
In case you were there, soon became a habit.

Shimmer to fire,
Strike match across my skin,
Oh my darling,
how long has it been?

Since the harvest came seven summers in a row,
And the weight became lighter,
With your arm in tow,
It feels like yesterday all those years ago,
When you kissed me for the first time,
In the falling snow.

Shimmer to fire,
Strike match across my skin,
Oh my darling,
how long has it been?

Since I lost your heart,
in the interminable weeds,
ripping concrete apart,
Oh isn't it funny,
how a day can feel,
like a clock filled up with honey.

Shimmer to fire,
Strike match across my skin,
Oh my darling,
Since the moon came down on us,
Since the waters turned to dust,
Since your shoulder held my chin,
O-O-O-Oh my darling...

These are the words for a fictional song, written for a short script I'm working on. Piece of String is either the name of the song, the script, neither, or both. None of it is final, even the script is in dire need of a re-write, but I thought it would be nice to share. If it ever gets put to music, I'm sure the words will change whether that be because of rhythm, metre, or a basic understanding of musical composition from whoever my collaborater is. For now it is this.

Alongside this, I am sharing a playlist of songs and performances that inspired my own. In my head it is meant to be a lost classic of the American Songbook but I'm unsure how succesfull I acutally am in that endeavour. Anyway, as you can see the songs aren't all standards, the playlist is more so a catalogue of everything that inspired to the characters, the emotions, and the atmosphere that inspired the piece. What the piece is, briefly, is a late night conversation between two women, one older, who used to sing, and one younger, trying to figure out why they find themselves together. There is some fun stuff in there with two versions of the characters, (one is the same person shifted, one is literally two characters played by two people; one older, one younger), split across time but it is really not operating beyond anything more than dream logic. From that you can probably tell why it still needs some work.

I hope you find something in the the playlist that moves you.

~Honeycream

Plain Text
Video Title, Channel Title

Map

Home
About
Archive
Changelog
Memories
Read, Watched, Played, Listened
English Dictionary
French Dictionary

Poetry

Chamber of Infinite Reflections

Zines

Poems in the Third Person Vol. 1 / mobile

Cover Art

Bankteller
Leather Jacket Vintage Style
Once More Unto The Beat
Light the Sky
Pale Imitation
The Café
The Kon-Tiki Project
Mermaid

Videos

TKTP Album Launch
The Kon-Tiki Project at Home
Mermaid ~ [MV]

Games

Super Dust in Light

Playlists

Favourite Tracks of 2018
Favourite Tracks of 2019
Favourite Tracks of 2020
Let it Back
Favourite Tracks of 2022
Favourite Tracks of 2023