I intended to write this many weeks ago, evidenced by the entire album cycle that has spun through since the release of the Florence video, but I got caught up with other things. Look at the subject of this article for a hint of what to look forward to. I can't yet write that without a self-deprecating qualification so; 'look forward' in the value neutral sense of anticipation for the sound of the cockrel in the morning. Anyway this sort of began to balloon, I watched a lot more videos, in the interim but I decided to bring the post back to its orginal purpose, which was to make a list of camera moves and techniques to potentially borrow in my own work, collected from the vague memories of the time I began writing this post.

The first video is for King by Florence and the Machine. Directed by Autumn de Wilde who has quite a good version of Emma you should check out. It's a great song and great video, but I want to specifically note a shot at 1:56 as the dancers crawl up the stairs. The camera tilts in jittered movements, matching the the beat of the music. It really supports the dancers and produces this really interesting gear-like movement. I'm unsure how it would play without the context of a backing rhythm but I suppose that is to be found out.

One upside of the time it took to write this is that i can say the album is great! I'm quite fond of the acoustic version of 'Free.'

Next up is PT Anderson's video for Haim's Lost Track. The first thing to I want to draw attention to is the Spike Lee style dolly at 1:13. The effect is ultimately quite different so its not a just simple substitution, but the fact Danielle is walking backwards with the camera makes a really organic and simple version of the shot. Her movement and her relation to the wall produces something really beautiful.

The final dolly in at 2:03 isn't a relevatory shot but more a note aimed entirely at me. I used to think the best way to convey 'looking,' and this is a very specific un self-concious form of seeing that will only get more confusing the more I try to explain, was best conveyed through a slow zoom; like something from The Conversation but this shot blows that conception completely out of the water. I'll have to do a lot more work to figure out which works where and why but if I ever figure it out I'll write my findings in more detail.

I'll leave it there just so I can claim this finished, clear it from my thoughts, and start working on something a bit more coherent. I'm sure there'll be another installment if there is anything else I think would be good to make myself remember in the future.

I'll leave you with Let's Eat Grandma's It's Not Just Me. I am always and forever thinking about the video, the song, and SOPHIE's gorgeous production.

Map

Home
About
Archive
Changelog
Memories
Read, Watched, Played, Listened
English Dictionary
French Dictionary

Poetry

Chamber of Infinite Reflections

Zines

Poems in the Third Person Vol. 1 / mobile

Cover Art

Bankteller
Leather Jacket Vintage Style
Once More Unto The Beat
Light the Sky
Pale Imitation
The Café
The Kon-Tiki Project
Mermaid

Videos

TKTP Album Launch
The Kon-Tiki Project at Home
Mermaid ~ [MV]

Games

Super Dust in Light

Playlists

Favourite Tracks of 2018
Favourite Tracks of 2019
Favourite Tracks of 2020
Let it Back
Favourite Tracks of 2022
Favourite Tracks of 2023